Call Of Duty: Black Ops 6 Reveal Event – When It’s Happening, How To Watch, What To Expect

0
2

It’s that time again–the season of summer showcases is here. Following Summer Game Fest comes the big Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 reveal event on June 9. The event immediately follows the Xbox Games Showcase, so it should be a stacked Sunday for big announcements and reveals for all things Xbox.

Ahead of the livestream on Sunday, here’s a closer look at when you can tune in and what to expect from the Black Ops 6 showcase, which is officially called a “Direct.” This is following the same playbook as 2023’s event, which included a main Xbox briefing followed by a Starfield Direct.

Black Ops 6 Direct start time

The Black Ops 6 Direct will be livestreamed on June 9 immediately after the Xbox Games Showcase. That event begins at the times listed below. There is no word on how long the briefing will be, but last year’s show was about an hour long, so if that’s similar this year, the Black Ops 6 Direct may start around 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET.

Xbox Games Showcase start times:

(Black Ops 6 Direct to follow immediately after)

  • 10 AM PT
  • 1 PM ET
  • 6 PM BST
  • 2 AM JST (June 10)
  • 3 AM AEST (June 10)

How to watch the Black Ops 6 Direct

You’ll be able to catch the Black Ops 6 Direct from several official Xbox, Activision, and Bethesda channels across YouTube, Twitch, and Facebook. Additionally, GameSpot will also host an embed of the stream to watch directly through this page.

Of note, the Xbox, Bethesda, and Activision streams on YouTube will air at up to 4K/60fps, while every other channel will be capped at 1080p/60fps.

Subtitle support will be provided in many languages, from Albanian to Zulu. We don’t know how long the livestream will be yet, but these typically run for at least an hour.

What to expect from Black Ops 6 Direct

Activision has said the June 9 event will be the worldwide reveal for Black Ops 6, so fans are expecting a meaty segment. The official word is that the Black Ops 6 Direct will provide a “deeper look into the next installment of the biggest action series of all time.”

So far, Activision has only released brief and cryptic teasers, including a live-action video (see above). There has been no gameplay footage yet, though, so Activision could potentially have a lot to show and discuss. Back in the E3 days, Activision was known to release an extended campaign sequence as well as multiplayer, and fans are surely hoping for something similar this year with Black Ops 6.

Black Ops 6 will be officially revealed on June 9

The announcement event may also include the reveal of the game’s release date, which is rumored to be sometime in October, along with potentially details on its special editions and more.

Many are also anticipating that the Black Ops 6 reveal event may include an announcement of older Call of Duty games coming to Game Pass. It remains to be seen if this may happen, though, or if an announcement may come prior during the main Xbox Games Showcase briefing. Time will tell.

Black Ops 6 is the first new entry in the series since Microsoft acquired Activision and the Call of Duty franchise. Despite the buyout, Microsoft will continue to release new Call of Duty games on PlayStation. Microsoft has signaled its intent to bring Call of Duty to Nintendo Switch, and it’ll be interesting to see if Microsoft shares any details on that during the Black Ops 6 Direct or Xbox Games Showcase.

Keep checking back with GameSpot for the latest!